Web Reasoning and Rule Systems

The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) aims to be the major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results on all topics concerning Web Reasoning and Rule Systems. This joint conference is devoted to all aspects of Semantic Web Reasoning, with an emphasis on rule-based approaches and languages. It welcomes both theoretical and practical works on this wide subject.

The reasoning landscape features theoretical areas such as knowledge representation (KR) and algorithms; design aspects of rule markup; design of ontology languages; engineering of engines, translators, and other tools; standardization efforts, such as the Rules Interchange Format activity at W3C; and applications. Of particular interest is also the use of rules to facilitate ontology modeling, and the relationships and possible interactions between rules and ontology languages like RDF and OWL, as well as ontology reasoning related to RDF and OWL. Since 2011, the annual Reasoning Web summer school has been co-located with RR.

Conference Sites

RuleML+RR 2021, 8-15 September 2021, Virtual (Leuven, Belgium), as part of Declarative AI 2021
RuleML+RR 2020, 29 June - 1 July 2020, Virtual (Oslo, Norway), as part of Declarative AI 2020
RuleML+RR 2019, 16-19 September 2019, Bolzano, Italy, as part of the Bolzano Rules and Artificial INtelligence Summit (BRAIN 2019)
RuleML+RR 2018, 18-21 September 2018, Luxembourg
RuleML+RR 2017, 12-15 July 2017, London, UK
RR 2016, 9-11 September 2016, Aberdeen, UK
RR 2015, 4-6 August 2015, Berlin, Germany
RR 2014, 15-17 September 2014, Athens, Greece
RR 2013, 27-29 July 2013, Mannheim, Germany
RR 2012, 10-12 September 2012, Vienna, Austria
RR 2011, 29-30 August 2011, Galway, Ireland
RR 2010, 23-24 September 2010, Bressanone, Italy
RR 2009, 25-26 October 2009, Chantilly, Virginia, USA
RR 2008, 31 October - 1 November 2008, Karlsruhe, Germany
RR 2007, 7-8 June 2007, Innsbruck, Austria


The conference is organised by the Web Reasoning and Rule Systems Association (RRA) e.V. (founded in 2009)

Official charter (in German)
English translation of the charter
Old version of the charter (kept for reference)

Managing Committee:

Diego Calvanese, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Bolzano, Italy (President 2019-2024)
Domenico Lembo, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy (Vice-President 2019-2024)
Wolfgang Faber, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria (Treasurer 2019-2024)

RR Steering Committee:

Francois Bry, University of Munich, Germany (founding member, 2007-2023)
Diego Calvanese, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy (2008-2024, President 2019-2024)
Wolfgang Faber, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria (2015-2024, Treasurer 2019-2024)
Michael Kifer, Stony Brook University, New York, USA (founding member, 2007-2023, President 2012-2018)
Roman Kontchakov, Birkbeck, University of London, UK (2016-2023)
Markus Krötzsch, Technical University of Dresden, Germany (2020-2023)
Domenico Lembo, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy (2016-2024, Vice-President 2019-2024)
Alessandra Mileo, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, NUIG (2012-2023)
Magdalena Ortiz, Technische Universität Wien, Austria (2016-2023)
Jeff Z. Pan, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom (founding member, 2007-2023)
Axel Polleres, Vienna University of Economics & Business, Austria (2011-2023)
Francesco Ricca, University of Calabria, Italy (2020-2023)
Sebastian Rudolph, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany (2012-2022, Vice-President 2012-2018)
Giorgos Stamou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece (2016-2023)
Heiner Stuckenschmidt, University of Mannheim, German (2012-2022, Treasurer 2012-2018)

Additional members of the RRA:

Josè Alferes, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Victor Gutierrez Basulto, Cardiff University, UK
Thomas Eiter, Technische Universität Wien, Austria (founding member, SC 2007-2016)
Tim Furche, University of Oxford, UK (SC 2016-2021)
Krzysztof Janowicz, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Pascal Hitzler, Wright State University, Dayton OH, USA (founding member, SC 2007-2016, Vice-President 2007-2011)
Manolis Koubarakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Thomas Krennwallner, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
Georg Lausen, University of Freiburg, Germany (founding member, SC 2007-2016)
Thomas Lukasiewicz, Oxford University, UK
Marco Montali, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Marie-Laure Mugnier, LIRMM, Université de Montpellier 2, France
Rafael Penaloza Nyssen, Università di Milano Bicocca, Italy
Guilin Qi, Southeast University, China
Riccardo Rosati, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy (founding member, SC 2007-2016, President 2007-2011)
Mantas Simkus, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
Umberto Straccia, Institute of Information Science and Technologies, CNR, Italy
Theresa Swift, NOVALincs, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Ivan José Varzinczak, Université d'Artois, France
Holger Wache, University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland, Switzerland (founding member, SC 2007-2011)

Past members of the RRA that were part of the RR Steering Committee:

Harold Boley, University of New Brunswick (Canada) (founding member, SC 2007-2009) - Obituary by the RuleML community (14.12.2020)
Massimo Marchiori, University of Padova, Italy (founding member, SC 2007-2008)
Christian de Sainte Marie, ILOG (France) (founding member, SC 2007-2009)
Bruce Spencer, University of New Brunswick (Canada) (founding member, SC 2007-2009)

Facebook page of the RRA
Mailing list of the RRA

Page maintained by Diego Calvanese.