The 6th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems

September 10 - 12 2012, Vienna, Austria


Call for Papers

The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) is a major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results concerning Web Reasoning and Rule Systems.

Call for Papers (text version)

Travel grants for students participating in RR 2012 are available, including special grants for students at U.S. institutions. See grant information.

Highlights in 2012

In addition to regular papers, RR 2012 solicits the submission of Technical Communications (TCs) that report about some interesting recent work, preliminary result, or inspiring viewpoint. Selected TCs will be invited for a full presentation like regular papers.

RR 2012 is co-located with a number of interesting events:

The Reasoning Web Summer School is a great opportunity particularly for young researchers to combine with attendance of the conference. Submissions by summer school participants are particularly encouraged.

Important Dates

Submission deadlines have been extended due to popular demand:

  • Abstract submission deadline: May 14 May 25, 2012, before 23:59 UTC
  • Submissions deadline: May 23 May 30, 2012, before 23:59 UTC
  • Notifications: June 22, 2012
  • Conference: September 10-12, 2012


RR welcomes original research from all areas of Web Reasoning. Topics of particular interest are:

  • Semantic Web, Rule and Ontology Languages, and related logics
  • Reasoning, Querying, Searching and Optimization
  • Incompleteness, Inconsistency and Uncertainty
  • Non-monotonic, Commonsense, and Closed-World Reasoning for the Web
  • Dynamic information, Stream Reasoning and Complex Event Processing
  • Decision Making, Planning, and Intelligent Agents
  • Reasoning, Machine Learning, Knowledge Extraction and IR Technologies
  • Large-scale data management and reasoning on the Web of Data
  • Data Integration, Dataspaces and Ontology-Based Data Access
  • Non-Standard Reasoning
  • Algorithms for distributed, parallelized, and scalable reasoning
  • System Descriptions and Experimentation
  • Applications and Experience Papers


The conference proceedings will be published by Springer within the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Submissions must be prepared in Springer's LaTeX style llncs. There are two submission formats:

  • Full papers (up to 15 pages)

    Original research works in the above areas

  • Technical Communications (up to 4 pages)

    Results and ideas with interest to the RR audience, including reports about recent own publications, position papers, and presentations of preliminary results

All accepted works will be included in the proceedings, with Technical Communications clearly marked as such. All full papers and selected Technical Communications will be invited to give a talk at the conference. All accepted works will have the opportunity to present a poster.

Submissions can be made in EasyChair: RR 2012 submission

Invited Speakers

Program Committee

  • Darko Anicic, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Jean-François Baget, LIRMM Montpellier
  • Chitta Baral, Arizona State University
  • Salem Benferhat, University of Artois
  • Fernando Bobillo, University of Zaragoza
  • Gerhard Brewka, University of Leipzig
  • François Bry, Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich
  • Diego Calvanese, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
  • Vinay Chaudhri, SRI International U.S.A.
  • Kendall Clark, Clark & Parsia LLC Washington DC
  • Tommaso Di Noia, Technical University of Bari
  • Francesco M Donini, University of Tuscia
  • Thomas Eiter, TU Vienna
  • Michael Fink, TU Vienna
  • Birte Glimm, Ulm University
  • Claudio Gutierrez, Universidad of Chile
  • Andreas Harth, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Aidan Hogan, National University of Ireland Galway
  • Giovambattista Ianni, University of Calabria
  • Yevgeny Kazakov, University of Oxford
  • Michael Kifer, Stony Brook University
  • Clemens Kupke, University of Oxford
  • Georg Lausen, University of Freiburg
  • Domenico Lembo, Unversity of Rome "La Sapienza"
  • Francesca Alessandra Lisi, University of Bari
  • Thomas Lukasiewicz, University of Oxford
  • Wolfgang May, University of Göttingen
  • Alessandra Mileo, National University of Ireland Galway
  • Ralf Moeller, Hamburg University of Technology
  • Marie-Laure Mugnier, University of Montpellier II
  • Magdalena Ortiz, TU Vienna
  • Jeff Z. Pan, University of Aberdeen
  • Rafael Peñaloza, TU Dresden
  • Axel Polleres, Siemens AG Österreich
  • Andrea Pugliese, University of Calabria
  • Guilin Qi, Southeast University
  • Riccardo Rosati, Unversity of Rome "La Sapienza"
  • Sebastian Rudolph, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Steven Schockaert, Cardiff University
  • Mantas Simkus, TU Vienna
  • Sergio Tessaris, Free University of Bozen
  • Andrei Voronkov, University of Manchester


See the committee page.

[photo Wien]

Platinum Sponsors

[logo AI Journal]

[logo ALP]

[logo DERI]

[logo DIST]

[logo NUIG]

[logo NSF]

[logo SIEMENS]

[logo VCLA]

[logo WPI]

Silver Sponsors


[logo IOS]

Regular Sponsors

[logo KGS]

[logo PlanetData]

Hosted by

[logo TU Wien] [logo TU Wien KBS]